Love Today

Once upon a time
he would have waited for eternity
just to get a glimpse of her.
Rebel against the world
to be with her forever and ever.
Once upon a time
she would have braved
path of thorns and
hurtful words of one and all
It all is worth it, she would think
if I can be with my soulmate, my love.
But that was
Once upon a time.
Today…
He thinks he has to choose
between his career and marrying her.
She would be demanding and distracting,
my weakness she will be, not my strength.
Today…
Things she adores in her lover
do not make him an ideal husband material
He is laidback and he is a thinker
He lives in his dream world
it’s not at all real.
Another love story scumbs to the demand of practical realities.
Thank you Jingle for the Perfect Poet Award.
For this week, I would nominate Nanno