Surajkund 2010

Went to see Surajkund Crafts Mela few days back. And that was after a full decade. Ya ya shame on me…its like just 40 kms from my place and it took me 10 years to visit again. But what the hell…I hate crowded places!

Anyways, pursuaded by my family, I reluctantly went with them and had a super duper good time πŸ™‚ Sharing some pictures with you all here.

1. Welcome Rangoli is the first thing you see.

Rangoli

Rangoli @ Entrance

2. A beautifully painted boundaryΒ wall…I cannot evenΒ beginΒ to imagine the time and patience it must have taken to make it.

Surajkund Mela 2010

Painted boundary wall

3. An intricately carved jharokha or a window.

Jharokha

One of the shops selling colourful wall decorations

Rajasthan was the theme state for this year. So there were lots of colours and dances πŸ™‚

One of the intricately decorated gates

This is gate for state of Himachal Pradesh. Gate is replica of Maheshwara Temple.

This one themed Himachal Pradesh

More colours than rainbow itself. So vibrant πŸ™‚

Ain't it pretty πŸ™‚

Colours- That is what defines the state of Rajasthan.

All the colours

These dancers come from far and wide showcasing their talent. They not only entertain you but at times make you join them as well.

Rajasthani Dancers

These folk singers have been singing since years, maybe decades. Music is soothing. I could sit and listen to it for hours πŸ™‚

Folk Singers

This is totally out of this world. Balancing 6 matkas on your head is no joke. And they were NOT glued.

Dance of 6 'matkas'

As if balancing them on her head was not enough, she could dance too. I don’t think I would be able to even stand and she could bend!!!! Takes them years of practice to master this.

!!

Have you ever seen a more colourful horse πŸ˜€ It was fun to watch this guy dance πŸ™‚

Ever seen a colourful horse πŸ˜€

Puppet show is one of the cutest things to see…just looking at them move makes you smile. If you haven’t seen it, you have missed something πŸ™‚

Puppets!

They are also good as decorations.

πŸ™‚

This is hand made. I bet no machine can churn out something this beautiful. If it looks this good on a tree, how will it look on a living room wall.

Will look good in living room πŸ™‚

This wood carving he done BY HAND!! Seriously…I saw him doing it! Such patience and eye for detail.

Such intricate wood carving!

12 thoughts on “Surajkund 2010

  1. Beautiful pictures Datsme, thanks for posting them. I love all the colors on the traditional clothing of the performers. Much more vibrant than anything I see here in the US.

    A traditional in the US may go back 300 years. In India some may go back over 3,000.

  2. What an awesome post! Your pictures are fantastic. I get a real feel for the craft fair!

    The wall hanging is amazing as well as the wood carving. Don’t you marvel at people who are so creative and talented AND patient!

    Best wishes!

  3. Oh … just reread your previous post’s comments, Datsme …

    Thank you … I am honored that you wrote this most beautiful post with me in mind!

    Many hugs to you, my dear!

  4. Wooow.Magnificent.I’ve never saw something like this πŸ™‚
    Thank you for share it with us,my friend! πŸ˜‰
    It’s a pleasure to discover different places from our world.

    Enjoy your day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

