A Veiled Life

All our lives we wear a veil
Not to hide our body
but to hide our soul
Some do it to avoid getting hurt
For baring your soul makes you vulnerable to pain
Some coz they are ashamed of their truest selves
No one wants to be rejected again
We say what we are supposed to
React as expected from us
All the while
silently looking for that someone
who can make us feel safe enough
to take off the veil and just be ourselves
and be accepted for what we are.
No matter what you achieve
no matter what you gain
At the end of the day,
isn’t that all that one yearns.

Veiled Existence

37 thoughts on “A Veiled Life

  1. Tasneem: Oops! I couldn’t find anything suitable. But thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

    Nanno1982: Actually noone wants to wear it..its more of a defensive measure, a shield than anything else. Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  2. Shakira: You are lucky you found someone who understood and loved the real you. Thank you so much for your encouraging comments πŸ™‚

    William: Glad you liked it William πŸ™‚ Thanks for coming here πŸ™‚

  3. You do like to write on controversial topics ? The whole of France is burning with this issue and here you are, lighting your own personal candle. I rather not say about the psychology behind the veil but I do not think that it is always about courage or the unwillingness to expose yourself.

    PS- not really into poems but,lets face it, its the best form of expression ( Drama tops, ofcourse my personal opinion ) πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 4 (Feb. 4-Feb. 10, 2010) « Jingle

  5. you see life as it is,
    without veil,
    and you are sharp and bright enough to protect yourself when others wear a veil trying to trick you,…

    very beautiful,
    well, we all hide part of us sometimes, as long as we don’t do it on the cost of the benefits f others, we are okay.

    thank you for writing such an elegant piece that rings so true to all,

    cute post,
    powerful poem. πŸ˜‰

  6. Sri Tatsat: Wohoa! Dude I wasn’t even thinking about France or Islam when I wrote this piece…I wrote this a last weekend. I was simply talking about people hiding their true self….psycho-analytic stuff πŸ˜€

    Jingle: True, at times in our defense we hurt others but then attack in self-defense is pardoned, isn’t it πŸ˜‰ Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  7. Yup. I know. Now, again, you are taking me into troubled waters… Psychoanalytics :P. Its funny how we have a whole bunch of theories we talk about casually in day to day life… If you have read a bit of psychology, you would know- thinking , learning, perception, attention and Psychoanalysis is a wholly different paradigm πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› :D. You really push your readers !

  8. Just trying to make myself believe that I am busy :P. Hence the irregularity on blog πŸ™‚

    Hehehe… come on !! We do not have to be serious all the time. Do we ?

  9. Hehehehehehe Relax. I wasn’t serious. Im a completely non-violent and peaceful soul so no need to get scared. *oops! forgot to hide the poison πŸ˜€ *

    So busy bee, whens the next post coming? O I forgot, I need to ‘hit you’ first for it na πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

  10. Well, lets see… I have exams tomorrow and on saturday. I guess I will sit down to write something on sunday. Come on ! you are making me concious. Fokat ka bhaav :P. But seriously, I would have penned a poem daily, if I were into poetry. Just that I am so scared of poems. They are really engaging.

  11. Beautiful poem,my friend!I was wonder what kind of surprise you have for us again. πŸ˜‰
    I have moments when in the end of the day i wondering what have i done today?If i have done something important or not?
    I know that today i plan something and i think that it’s important for me,but when i finish what i planed i discover that it wasn’t so important.

    Have a special day,Datsme! πŸ™‚

  12. The hardest relationship I ever had was long, long ago where I kept trying to anticipate how he wanted me to act around him and also around his friends. I was heart-broken for years after we broke up, but I would never ever have been happy!
    Fortunately I married a man who is so terrific and loves me to be me!

  13. You wrote a beautiful poem. There is a universal truth to it. We are all wearing masks. We all want to find someone who will still accept us even after we take off the mask. πŸ™‚

  14. 2a24: Thanks for coming again πŸ™‚ You are so right…sometimes things become important to us simply on a whim. Soon they loose their importance.

    Cottagegirl: And Im sure that time you were sure he the one meant for you. But after meeting your hubby, you realized he is your soulmate πŸ™‚ Thanks for coming here and for your kind words. My next post is for you.

    Ishabelle: Good to see you here πŸ™‚ Well lets hope we all find the right person πŸ™‚

    Courtingdisaster: Welcome here πŸ™‚ That is true for me too. Sometimes even when you find someone, you are too scared to trust the person.

  15. really beautiful.. was thinking about the same topic some days ago..u expressed it really well !! adding to your views..true friendships are formed only when you can take off that curtain in between πŸ™‚ btw just saw that you are into poetry too.. i have just started writing poems and like..added your blog to my blogroll..will surely take out time to go through rest of your work ! have a nice day !

  16. Gbaugh: Thanks Gerardine πŸ™‚

    Bluekidontheblock: Thank you πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it. I started poetry recently- just last month. Lets see how far it goes. Thanks for blogrolling me πŸ™‚ C ya.

  17. I am blind, but I see.
    I am not blind, but I wish not.
    I am not blind as you are, but so you believe
    I am blind, because I see different.
    I am not blind, and wish world wasnt too.

    ~just some random hallucinations at wee hours πŸ™‚

  18. Very interesting imagery in your poem. We often veil ourselves from ourselves more than from other people.

    One of the great problems in life is throwing off that veil so we can be discover our true soul, and live in the world by it.

    If we play it safe, and hide behind that veil, we will live a life of dreams never made real.

  19. Brian Miller : πŸ™‚

    Bakfire: Wow!! Maybe your PhD hasnt ruined you completely afterall πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

    edfromct: Very true indeed. Thank you for your kind words πŸ™‚

    Debbie: Each to his own πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

    Paulandrewrussell: Thanks πŸ™‚

    Kseverny: Gee that wasn’t really the motive. I was just writing something I felt. πŸ™‚

    CU: Thank you CU πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

