Shattered Dream

It was a dream, her most cherished one.
It was not the kind one sets out to achieve
It was her personal fairy tale, a fantasy
not something that one believes.
She thought of it when she was sad and it made her smile always
She could lose herself in that world for hours
and forget her sorrows and worries.
She was happy.
But one day the impossible happened
Her fantasy, her dream didn’t seem impossible anymore!
It could be real, it could indeed be hers.
What she cherished, what she longed for
What she had made herself believe is fantasy
and only in dreams could be hers.
It was going to be hers.
Oooo what a feeling it was!
She felt she could fly and touch the sky
All her wishes were granted
she had nothing to ask for anymore
she could not stop smiling
strangers also seemed strangers no more
She was estatic.
And just when her perfect world was going to come together
It all fell apart.
She couldn’t believe what was real anymore
Did she dream of her dream getting real?
Or is she now in a terrible nightmare?
Showing a child his favourite toy and
snatching it away just as soon as he grabs it
who could be soo cruel!
Why? Why me? Why ruin my dream?
I never wished to make it real
then why couldn’t you just let it be?
Her dream, her fantasy was shattered
It made her cry now
Everytime she thought of it, she remembered her hopes and smiles
all crushed and massaered now.
What was once a source of bliss
gives nothing but pain deep down to her soul.

Shattered Dream

20 thoughts on “Shattered Dream

  1. That was awesome..
    Our dreamweaver can trick us.. pushing us to believe the dream cz we wanted it so much..
    I always said since the impossible is nothing, then when you think you live the impossible, then certainly you’re living nothing!

    Very good one Datsme.. I loved it!

  2. “Showing a child his favourite toy and
    snatching it away just as soon as he grabs it
    who could be soo cruel!
    Why? Why me? Why ruin my dream?”

    It was rather depressing. I feel the utter despair.Oh dear.

    I enjoyed it though.

    Thank you for sharing.

    hugs,
    shakira

  3. hi ,datsme,
    — As a poet myself I’m looking at the poetry you have created and it is very moving indeed.
    This is a most beautifully written poem. It speaks for itself. I cannot add much more to what your friends have already said in their individual comments, except to also say that the way you write, the way you express yourself, your feelings, is creative and beautiful. I shall keep following your lovely writing and I will be back to see your posts. There is always a new day and a new dawn and I hope your new days will be good ones, and this my sincere wish for you.

    Warmest regards (deep thanks for visiting my pages and leaving your gracious and kind comment there).

    PoetTraveler

  4. Oh this poem is so touching! It’s sad when our dreams are “Shattered” but as long as we have hope we can “Dream Again” and keep waiting for the best. Have a wonderful evening and I do so appreciate your comments. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Week 3 Thursday Poets’ Rally Update (Jan. 28-Feb. 3, 2010) « Jingle

  6. Nanno1982: Indeed once you set your mind to it, impossible is nothing. But some dreams are fantasies….they are only to be in your mind, not in real life.

    Justmeshakira: I was a bit depressed when I wrote it.

    Poet Traveler: Thank you for the kind words πŸ™‚

    Pttyann: True πŸ™‚ Afterall, what are we, if not for our dreams.

    William: Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. I’m so glad I dropped by your blog today, that poem was beautiful, really touching and very honest. I’m now going to eat the rest of your blog! <3!!

  8. That’s touching. While I was reading it my eyes were glued to the screen waiting to see what the next word was going to be.

    Thanks for the comments also

    gman

  9. Doubtful poet: Thank you πŸ™‚ I would love to know your thoughts on other poems and posts πŸ™‚

    Gman1212: Thank you. It feels really good to read such encouraging words πŸ™‚

  10. it is painful to let go one’s dreams,
    I admire your superb ability and courage in weaving these shattered dreams into a beautiful poem,
    magical poem,
    insightful thoughts…

  11. Chills for me, Dats! Your words are so powerful and ring so true for so many. You wonder how people can go on, but most do and many do it well when the course of their lives makes a complete detour.
    Well done!

  12. Beautiful expression that many can relate to. My children often wonder why I would say “careful what you wish for”. Yet, life goes on and so will the dreams. Thank you for sharing!

  13. Neeraj: Thank you Neeraj πŸ™‚

    Joyislife: That is so true indeed. Many a times we wish for things and when granted, realize it is not what we actually wanted afterall. Thanks for your kind words πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 4 (Feb. 4-Feb. 10, 2010) « Jingle

Leave a Reply

