Healed

I do not think of you all the time anymore
Do not jump when I hear your name
It doesn’t seem more familiar to me than my own
Like it used to once, but not anymore.
My phone now keeps lying in some distant corner of my house
My ears and mental radar often misses hearing it ringing
I once used to be practically glued to it
lest I miss your call but not anymore.
Anecdotes about you dont come up in my conversations anymore
My friends dont have to politely smile and nod at stories heard a dozen times before.
I don’t call up our common friend every second day
Hearing her stories, hoping she’ll tell me something about you.
I dont think of you if I read Mills & Boons
Their oh-so-predicable stories don’t make me cry anymore.
I do invariably start thinking of you when someone asks me what kinda guy I want,
thinking about someone other than you in my life doesn’t sound impossible anymore.
Times we spent were wonderful, i am glad I met someone like you
It ended early but I know anytime would have felt too soon
It hurt, it pained, it nearly ripped me apart
But its all behind me and Im ready to make a new start.

A New Start

ImageΒ courtesy Flickr
21 thoughts on “Healed

  1. I do have some ‘valuable’ experiences of the same genre but I never thought that much. Now that you have written about it here, I will.

    It was always clearer like never before- the way computer is after each format :). Maybe it is not-so-human to not waste time on something that does not address the problems of human society at large, but I really have never been able to get past the whats-the-big-deal attitude about breakups, basic mantra being ” no good thing ever dies” and its a bad idea to even waste a second for something that is not good πŸ˜›

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 3 (Jan. 28-Feb. 3, 2010) « Jingle

  3. Bakfire: Its part fiction buddy πŸ™‚ Now figure out which part πŸ˜‰

    Sri Tatsat: Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚ Well you can have the whats-the-big-deal attitude towards breakups if (a) the said relationship dint mean dat much in the 1st place (b) you’ve been through that drill umpteen number of times.

    Yousei Hime: Thanks for the kind words πŸ™‚

  4. The struggle to move forward is a universal one. To share it as you have here brings people together in their unique struggles with the very topic at hand.

    Great piece.

    Cheers,

    Taylor

  5. Sri Tatsat: See…there you go. Initially im sure it was kinda tough to take for you too (unless you r gonna be ‘a guy’ and pretend not to feel such weak emotions πŸ˜› )

    Taylorprescott: Thanks for the kind words πŸ™‚

    Nanno1982: Well Im glad you liked it so much. Hope my next one will make you smile πŸ™‚

    Justmeshakira: Thank you πŸ™‚

    Also, Taylorprescott, Nanno1982 and Justmeshakira, WELCOME TO MY BLOG πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. I understand exactly what you meant by the ‘guy’ thing πŸ™‚ Well, maybe it was not that easy in the first few hookups. Thereafter, I lost respect for self-affiliated relationships.

  7. Pingback: Week 3 Thursday Poets’ Rally Update (Jan. 28-Feb. 3, 2010) « Jingle

  8. Datsme.. excuse for commenting again on that poem…
    I just think about it all day and visit your blog to read it over and over again…
    I love that poem.. I really do…
    It’s my favorite!!

  9. Brian Miller: That is soo true. Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

    Nanno1982: That’s terribly sweet of you. You are always welcome here πŸ™‚

    Jingle: True. You are what you go through.

Leave a Reply

