Holi after 11 years

Ya u read it right…i played holi after 11 years.

First some background. I used to play holi with my family, cousins (if they come over) and ofcourse my gang of friend. It was one of the most anticipated day of the year… day to play till afternoon, day when mom wont chase me to take a bath and get ready ASAP, day when we all used to get even with each other for all the past grievances. Come January and all the quarrels end with, “Holi aane de…dekh lenge” πŸ˜€ Though I always hated the tell tale green-pink-blue face and nails after the holi, it helped in boasting to friends about how grand my holi was (I was just a kiddo yaar!)

And then I shifted to Delhi and Holi was never the same 😦

It took me a long time to adjust to Delhi which is mostly a ‘u mind ur own biz and i mind mine’ kinda metro. Plus I was never much into making friends. That gang back home just happened coz i had been there since my early 9 years. Shifting here meant no friend circle and i dint make one. So no friends to play holi with.

The one holi when I did play some (thanks to a big bro who was super enthu about it) turned sour when I developed some kinda allergy to some colours…itchy and scratchy. Big bro got irritated since i refused to play along after that irrtation started. He poured one entire can of that grainy, green water colour (that pucca wala colour) on my head!!! IT took me 3 bloody hours to have all those green granules get out of my head via water. Ofcourse by the end of it, i was all green myself 😦 GAWD…how much i hated that…that weirdly painted face of mine that lasted for good week time! So that kinda added to my resolve never to play holi again.Β  And it lasted well till last year. I used to buy colour on holi only to replenish my stock for diwali rangoli πŸ˜€

Last year i shifted to a newly coming up residential area on the outskirts of Delhi and this was 1st Holi here. Since everyone was new here, all were eager to make it special. Friend circle here was not an issue…coz the people closest to my age were atleast 6 years older then me and accompanied by ATLEAST one kid/infant. 😦

Still I was kinda dragged along and we played holi…it was fun πŸ™‚ We made full use of the in-house swimming pool (which is otherwise quite inappropriate for swimming being surrounded by buildings) and spent hours in there feasting on thandai (no bhaang) and gujiya πŸ™‚Β  Someone did manage to mess me up with some pucca colour but thanks to hours of constant water splashes, it got washed off on its own.

Overall it was a fun, colourful and nostalgic holi. Hope you all also had fun πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Holi after 11 years

  1. Interesting really how some things just settle into our minds & tht sets the tone for how we deal with it in the future also.

    I too have a memory….it happened when I was a teenager. I was going down this lonely road towards my friends house & a whole group of boys came with colors towards me & tho I was intimidated I did not show it.

    They asked permission to put color & I asked them to put a tikka since I was going somewhere. So 1 guy decently puts a tikka & moves back & from the back 2 guys smear my face with colors. They all laugh & go away.
    I suppose thinking back now I realise I’ve been lucky but tht time I was scared out of my wits & felt violated.
    After tht day I’ve never felt comfortable abt this festival.

  2. ich lieben holi…i don’t give much of a damn for the colors…hate most of them anyways but i love playing in water and i like getting muddy and dirty

    though holi for me has been an occasional festival…remember only a couple of times when we enjoyed playing holi as it should be wet and dirty…

  3. Nancy: OMG…dat must have been terrible!! Well dats one aspect of the festival dat does turn off big time.

    Anoop: Dats sweet πŸ™‚

    Sanely Insane: Ummm dats actually better den all dos water colours that leave der mark.

  4. Lovely to hear of your experience playing holi. If it helps, I have never played holi in my life 😦

    Yes I know its an experience I have missed, but somehow its a time of the year that gets jinxed for me!

    Anyways, nice post πŸ™‚

  5. Hey,D..that was fun.although i came a bit late to your page as I was terribly tied up with various things.Sorry fr that!But I’m glad you had fun on holi.
    God bless:)

  6. Kusublakki: Hey, good to see you here πŸ™‚
    ‘its a time of the year that gets jinxed for me!’ hmmm sounds like a sad thing…wats d story?

    Deeps: Thanks sweetie, so wassup @ ur end?

Leave a Reply

