Rediscover nature

Last 2 months have been a sort of awakening for me… Staying in a blistering metro like Delhi for more than a decade has helped me gain my independence and develop my thoughts, ironically it also makes us lead a very sheltered life.

I havnt seen a star lit sky in ages. Even on a no moon night, pollution and city lights create a haze un-penetrable by the heavenly lights…my only memory of a dazzling starry night is of Mukundgarh where due to an absolute power cut, there was absolute darkness for about 3 seconds (till the power backup kicked to life). But those 3 seconds were the most mesmerizing sight of my life.

I had heard of chandni raat specially of a full moon night. Heard that moonlight is sooo bright that it can eclipse even the brightest of the stars. I went to Himachal in December and there I was…cris-crossing my way across mountains in the purest of moon lights (it was a night after new moon). There was no street lights, no glittering town lights and still it was bright enough that if we wanted we could have driven without the car lights on!

Have u ever fed birds…and that too in a river? I did and it was an awsum feeling. I went to Allahbad in January and there in Sangam I saw flocks of some beautiful migratory birds.  They were sooooooooooo beautiful! We bought some sev for them and fed them. <sigh> I could have done that all day long!

Sometimes when you loose something, you don’t realize how much you missed it unless you actually see it again.. you wont believe it but I saw a butterfly after nearly a decade! I was in my aunt’s kitchen garden and there I saw a fluttering butterfly…I dont have words to describe it..it was kinda orangish with some blackish designs (i think). I saw and for a split second i couldn’t even recall what is it called. And then a wave of nostalgia hit me of a time decade back when I used to sit in my garden and could look at a butterfly fluttering away from one flower to another for hours! I was never fond of catching a butterfly…just looking at it 🙂 🙂

How much do we miss staying in these concrete jungles.

3 thoughts on “Rediscover nature

  1. Pingback: Small town charm « Keeping track of a wandering mind

Leave a Reply

